A while back I posted about one of our more persistent spammers in South Africa, called Samantha Bowman from Callum-Lee IT Solutions which is rather one annoying individual. I used to think SPAM king Greg from Reflex was bad but he learnt his when his ability to send out via port 25 on his leased-line was cut!!
I regularly like clockwork receive four copies of her SPAM message every time she decides to SPAM about her various “Special Offers”. It’s highly obvious that she’s been harvesting WHOIS records from the co.za website. Since when do email addresses listed as the dns-admin@domain.name really want to receive her specials on laptops which are over priced? Also I don’t know who at Mr Delivery decided to sell her their customer database! When I registered on the Mr Delivery website I decided to use a generic address to identify SPAM originating from that address. The only way that Samantha Bowman could have gotten hold of that address was either paying a dishonest employee of Mr Delivery money for their customer database for a list of names and email addresses.
Originally she was using both M-Web and SAIX dial-up accounts and sending of her bulk mail via SAIX’s SMTP cluster (smtp.saix.net) and after contacting SAIX’s abuse department I had put an end to her ability to send mail via SAIX’s SMTP cluster. SAIX earns extra brownie points for getting rid of a SPAM sending individual from their network.
It took extra effort to get rid of her M-Web web hosting and dial-up account. But none the less explaining to M-Web’s abuse department that she is in breech of their Terms of Service document took quite a bit of convincing with M-Web’s SMTP servers getting blacklisted for Samantha’s SPAM it woke them up as one spammer on their network can cause a huge inconvenience for the rest of their dial-up users.
Generally when I complain to second-tier ISP’s I tend to always CC the first-tier ISP which they utilise for connectivity as this normally works well except in the case when dealing with Sentech. In the case with Sentech, which Samantha Bowman, is now using for her connectivity to SPAM from, I have been CC’ing the Internet Solutions abuse department as well as their Managing Director in the hope that they would enforce the terms of their Acceptable Usage Policy on Sentech who in turn would be forced to remove Samantha Bowman from their client base.
I’m not sure how many people are purchasing hardware and website hosting from Callum-Lee IT Solutions, but why would they be sending unsolicited commercial mail if they were not making a profit from sending the mailers.
From - Tue Jul 12 00:42:08 2005
Return-Path: <*snip*>
Delivered-To: *snip*
Received: from smtp.sentechsa.com ([66.18.69.33] helo=mail02.infosat.net)
by maquis.powertrip.co.za with esmtp (Exim 4.34; FreeBSD)
id 1Ds20J-000OlY-2y
for *snip*; Mon, 11 Jul 2005 19:23:41 +0200
Received: from [66.18.85.56] (HELO Jinxed)
by mail02.infosat.net (CommuniGate Pro SMTP 4.1.8)
with ESMTP id 275854128 for *snip*; Mon, 11 Jul 2005 19:23:17 +0200
From: "Callum-Lee IT Solutions"
Subject: Toshiba Notebooks - 7 Options with a Printer & USB Flash Drive
To: "Jacques" <*snip*>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="_Boundary_2mlksmuasadvnqk5prcsiwy"
MIME-Version: 1.0
Sender: Callum-Lee IT Solutions
Date: Mon, 11 Jul 2005 19:24:25 +0200
X-Mailer: MailList King 5.1.2.120
Message-ID: